Patient Reviews

When you meet with the GI specialists at Metropolitan Gastroenterology Associates, you will be receiving the highest quality of care available to meet all of your GI concerns. Our patient-centric focus means that your health and well-being matter above all else. As a team of physician-led providers, we know that dealing with gastrointestinal issues is not always pleasant, which is why we strive to ensure a comfortable, caring experience for all of our patients. When you visit our expert digestive health providers, you can rest assured that you are in good hands. Knowing that your provider cares about you as a person is very important, and that is why we encourage you to take a look at real experiences from others who have been right where you are. Browse through the reviews below and once you have finished, reach out to us and let us know how we can assist you.

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"Dr Vernon j carrier Jr he is a very great gi Dr I would send every one that I know to him his staff is very wonderful to talk to the office is very clean in the waiting room and the exams rooms are very clean to"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google Feb 07 2024

"The surgical facility is beautiful. I didn't have to wait long. The nurses and attendants were all very friendly. Dr Carriere is a gem."

5.0 Review from B.P. Source: Google Feb 02 2024

"Dr. Carrie was very knowledgeable with different options for eating things that don’t upset my intestines. I’m keeping a food, diary and learning what’s best for me. Everyone is different. I appreciate his knowledge and concern for my health."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Dr carriere is the best dr ever"

5.0 Review from D.I. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"Efficient. On time appointment. Professional."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Jan 10 2024

"Dr. Carriere was kind, considerate, listened to me and explained the upcoming procedure in detail. Great experience!"

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Jan 03 2024

"DR. Vernon Carriere is a great Gastroenterologist"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google Dec 20 2023

"My visit with Dr. Carriers was smooth 👌 and successful with my upcoming medical condition. Looking forward for my next visit. 😀"

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Dec 14 2023

"Dr carrier and his team were very professional. Thanks to them for that."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Dec 14 2023

"My first visit with Dr. Carriere was a great one. He made me feel very comfortable as we discussed my concerns. He readily answered any questions I had and informed me of his recommended treatment."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Nov 14 2023

"Excellent"

4.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google Nov 07 2023

"Dr explained the results of my ultrasound in terms I could understand and what action to take going forward.."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Nov 04 2023

"Dr. Vernon Carriere is very compassionate (caring/concerned, he is also very easy to communicate with. I am very happy to have such a wonderful doctor caring for me. His staff is very friendly and professional. Sandra S."

5.0 Review from C.P. Source: Google Oct 25 2023

"He was a very good listening to my concerns."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Oct 24 2023

"Very knowledgeable,professional and friendly Doctor and Staff. Great office"

5.0 Review from P.P. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Very personable, made me feel at ease. Took his time to go over everything with me. good energy."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Oct 04 2023

"Very interested in providing top of the line patient care services. Has the patient's needs in mind."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"Very pleasant experience considering the procedure"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"Excellent! Very professional."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Had an endoscopy and colonoscopy done same day at the Metairie center with Dr Carriere and was a great experience. Everything was thoroughly explained to me. Staff was great as well."

4.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"Staff took forever to bring me back but Sr. Carriere is worth the wait. He is amazing!"

5.0 Review from N.B. Source: Google Jul 22 2023

"Starting from the first call to the office, meeting Dr. Carrier, booking my procedures, accommodating my schedule to get everything done before school starts because I'm a teacher was perfect. I was so scared after receiving my results and everyone along the way was kind, compassionate, and informative. Even when I had to call after hours twice, the doctor called me back with 10 mins which is basically unheard of nowadays. They worked with my pharmacy to change medicine 3xs to get one that my insurance would cover. This practice gets an EXCELLENT rating in my opinion."

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google Jul 18 2023

"Courteous and attentive. My questions were well addressed by Dr. Carriere & Staff. Thank you."

4.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google Jul 18 2023

"Dr Carriere is attentive and friendly"

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"It was a colonoscopy. How pleasant could that actually be? HAHA However, All the medical staff was very good, professional, and pleasant. My nurse was Stephanie and she was fantastic.She was fun to work with and kept me at ease. I am supposed to come back in a year and I will request her. Dr Carriere was wonderful, so was the nurse anesthetist No complaints AT ALL."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"Great experience. Treated like family and all went well."

5.0 Review from B.T. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"Very professional! 😍😍"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"The staff where very professional and friendly. I felt very comfortable and relaxed"

5.0 Review from I.S. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"Very professional, and personable at the same time. Staff was efficient and comforting. Endoscopy suite very clean and welcoming."

5.0 Review from A.V. Source: Google Jul 04 2023

"All went well ❤️‍ clean never need to go back 😔"

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Jun 22 2023

"06/22/2023- can’t reach appointment line when trying to call. Second day of no answers and operator being “unavailable.” I’m hoping this update will alert the office. *** The doctor is warm and welcoming. He has great bedside manners and actually listens to your fears/concerns without judgment but with calm reassurance. I felt I was in very good hands for my procedure and the supportive nursing staff was lagniappe."

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google May 11 2023

"Great explanation that I could understand about my Gerds condition and problems with my digestive system. Going back for endoscopy."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 11 2023

"Great doctor! I would recommend him for Crohn's disease. He has helped me tremendously! Update now he offers infusions at his office too! So happy with this doctor. I feel like he listens well and always does a fantastic job with my health care!"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Mar 25 2023

"Everyone involved was kind, professional and made the process unexpectedly stress free for which I am very grateful. I will not hesitate to recommend Dr. Carriere. Sydney"

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"I have been a patient of Dr. Carriere for many years. I have fairly serious issues with my colon and Dr. Carriere has taken excellent care of me and has performed at least one very risky surgery successfully with no problems or negative outcomes. I would highly recommend him and in fact have recommended him to a couple of my friends."

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"I love Dr. Vernon Carriere! He actually listens when you talk and try to explain what you're going through! He's an excellent doctor!"

5.0 Review from D.J. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"From the front desk to the nurses in the back, they were all very kind, courteous and professional."

4.0 Review from G.F. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"The doctor was extremely professional and courteous. I did not wait long. He was able to provide me with other information while I was there."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I'm thankful for the help"

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr Carriere was very transparent with all information. I felt comfortable the whole time as I was in great care."

5.0 Review from H.T. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr Carriere has such a calm, confident demeanor that even a colonoscopy doesn’t seem so foreboding."

5.0 Review from G.D. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr Carriere and his staff were very informative, knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend Dr Carriere."

5.0 Review from G.G. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Knowledgeable caring and prompt."

5.0 Review from B.D. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Thorough and has the patients best interests in mind….."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Amazing! Vernon is so super nice."

5.0 Review from V. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Carriere is very knowledgeable, patient, and professional physician. He has a very calm and welcoming disposition. He will take time to answer any of your questions, and explain instructions that you need to know. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from W.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Good aditude doctor"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Had my colonoscopy and got the all clear. Dr Vernon Carriere and the entire staff at MGA were very efficient, professional and courteous. While I do not have to have another colonoscopy for 10 years, if any other issues come up, I will definitely make a return appointment. I highly recommend Dr Carriere and MGA."

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I travel from Biloxi Mississippi and he is the best Doctor ever."

4.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Great doctor, however I did have a long wait after arriving."

4.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"Dr. Carriere was knowledgeable and friendly..it was the first time I meet him. I just felt rushed in the appointment and wished my colonoscopy and endoscopy could have been sooner than 5 weeks out.I pray that he will find the root cause of gastro problems."

5.0 Review from M.A. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Doctor Vernon is a good doctor, however he can be very percist about certain things when it comes to requiring certain medicines to his patients. But when you asked questions his attidude is very aggressive to what he believes."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Definitely use him again very good at what he does thank you."

5.0 Review from J.S. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Excellent service. Easy to relate with."

5.0 Review from I.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I had a good experience with Dr. Carriere. He is really knowledgeable about the procedure and answers all questions."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I highly recommend Dr Carriere. The procedure I had went exactly as he said it would with no surprises."

4.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"Well run office. Dr. Carriere was thorough and give a complete diagnosis after a test he ordered is done."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Dr Carrierre was very thorough and explained everything I needed to know. He answered all of my questions. Definitely recommend!"

5.0 Review from D.Z. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Love Dr Carriere very professional and explains everything."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"Highly recommend Dr. Carriere for any procedure."

5.0 Review from T.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"DR Carrier Jr is a. Awesome Doctor. Pleasant and caring. The office staff are friendly. I highly recommend Dr Carrier."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"The medical facility was extremely comfortable and the staff was great. Dr. Carriers is very caring, thorough and makes you feel special."

5.0 Review from D.L. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr. CARRIERE is very caring and compassionate and extremely thorough in explaining all the details of your visit or procedure. I am so pleased he is my doctor."

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Doctor Carriere is great Doctor takes time with his patients"

5.0 Review from L.H. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Very courteous and professional. Solid recommendations. Answered all questions. Gave enough time."

5.0 Review from H.O. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Vernon is a great doctor. I find him very easy to communicate with and I’m able to be open about my symptoms bc he can finish the sentences! Great at what he does."

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"It was my very first experience with Dr. Vernon J Carriere Jr. at his office. I can honestly say at front desk the ladies are absolutely polite and understanding. I didn’t wait long to see my doctor. He was polite, kind, took care of business, and answered all my questions. I would definitely recommend my friends and family to see him."

5.0 Review from S.T. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Dr Carrierre is an excellent, caring gastroenterologist. He has been my daughters, husband, and now my doctor for 10 years."

4.0 Review from I.W. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"Would have given 5 stars but the wait was almost an hour."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"So caring and awesome"

5.0 Review from S.N. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Friendly, professional and to the point. Recommend"

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Carriere provides a comfortable environment. His knowledge is very help during a time of crisis. It would be hard for me to not go to him if I had a problem."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr Carriere is kind and very compassionate. He performed my services and made sure to address any concerns before and discuss results afterwards. Will go back to address more concerns and finish testing."

5.0 Review from C.C. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"My original doctor retired and Dr. Carriere was recommended. My daughter and I were very impressed with my first visit. I'm having a procedure done to check what's left of my colon. I felt comfortable the minute he walked into the room."

5.0 Review from C.F. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Very professional and quickly resolved my issue. I would recommend them to anyone!"

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Beautiful offices, great physician, friendly staff. Would recommend this medical group highly."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Vernon J. Carriere Jr. was very polite and helpful asking me if I had any questions. He explained the procedure well to my understanding."

5.0 Review from B.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr.Carriere was excellent!! They took great care of me and my concerns!! I will definitely recommend my family and friends there😉😉"

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Carriere is a wonderful gastroenterologist. Dr. Carriere is a doctor who is concerned and very easy to talk to, he has his patients best interest first on his mind. I had a serious health issue last year 2020. He brought me through it with reassurance and unforgettable compassion. I am well today. I thank him and his team of medical professionals who use their skills to put their patients health and healing first and beyond all things to get them back to the best health they can have. I recommend him to everyone. Even other doctors and medical professionals. GO GET A COLONOSCOPY Medical procedures are new and updated. Dr. Carriere knows how to use them all. Don't delay make your appointment today! It can save your life. Thank you Dr.Carriere. and your team. Savanthia 🙏"

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Staff treated me with loving care, kindness and respect just as their own family."

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"They take great care in making sure I’m healthy and I appreciate that"

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Everyone was caring, friendly and professional."

5.0 Review from L.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Carriere is very knowledgeable about his field & I appreciate his input into any medical concerns I have. I strongly recommend Dr. Carriere."

5.0 Review from E.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very satisfied with the care I received by Dr. Carrier. No issues or complaints. Would highly recommend his services without hesitation."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great care with a Doctor Who obviously cares about his patients and their well-being."

5.0 Review from P.N. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Carriere is a great physician, very knowledgeable, very caring"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google May 25 2022

"When I called to make an appointment initially the Person answering the phone was very kind and helpful, also several questions i had with other staff were very patient and helpful. Dr. Carriere is a very friendly doctor in and outside the office, as i have seen him in the hospital setting"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He delivered 3 of my 4 children. My firstborn was delivered by another Dr. and hospital. The experience was very traumatic. Then I went to Dr Vernon Carriere and since then I’ve never been to anyone else. He is genuine and really cares his patients. His soft spoken gentle demeanor goes along way to making you feel comfortable. He’s definitely earned my trust for life."

5.0 Review from K.O. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He was a sweetie! Very knowledgeable!"

5.0 Review from K.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"It was an outstanding office visit and procedures. I found Dr. Carriere friendly and personal, so it was easy to discuss my issues. He was knowledgeable and was willing to spend time with me without rushing out to another room. His office staff was just as friendly and helpful as he was. I give Dr. Carriere my highest personal recommendation."

5.0 Review from K.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"The doctor is warm and welcoming. He has great bedside manners and actually listens to your fears/concerns without judgment but with calm reassurance. I felt I was in very good hands for my procedure and the supportive nursing staff was lagniappe."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"dr carriere was very nice and informed. he took me serious and gave me the help i needed. i’m grateful to have him as my doctor."

5.0 Review from L.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I don’t know why I didn’t go to him sooner. A life saver. The staff in the office is very friendly, and he makes sure that your comfortable with your procedure."

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Carriere treated me with great respect and kindness. He gave me his full attention while discussing my medical concerns. His bedside manner is awesome. I will definitely recommend him to friends who might need a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I recently visited Dr. Carriere both in his office and at the facility where he performed my EDGI AND Colonoscopy. The experience was comfortable and I was seen in a timely manner. Dr. Carrier and his team are very professional and courteous."

5.0 Review from J.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Carriere has been great. All the staff have been friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. I always felt like a priority, I felt listened to and believed and never felt like just a number. I am glad to have found Dr. Carriere and trust him with my health going forward."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Amazing, caring, and gentle. Dr Carriere went over and above figuring out what was wrong with me. I am a paralyzed patient with several different issues and he never gave up on my health until he found out the issue."

5.0 Review from M.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I was admitted to East Jefferson hospital for three days, for hemorrhaging diverticulosis. Dr. Vernon Carriere Jr. was my gastroenterologist. I was so anxious and scared of passing a lot of blood with my bowel, but Dr. Carriere’s friendliness and easy going nature made me feel better. After hearing my symptoms, he right away told me that it was diverticulosis. He also suggested that it would be a good idea to get an endoscopy and a colonoscopy done, just to be a hundred percent sure. I followed his instructions, and now I am doing fine. My thanks to him!"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Carriere is the finest GI man in the New Orleans area. He’s very smart and has an excellent bedside manner. I recommend him unconditionally."

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Carriere is amazing and very compassionate with his patients."

5.0 Review from V.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Carriers is polite and kind. He takes his time to explains things in detail and gets to know his patients."

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Carriere and staff are great. He is patient oriented and takes his time explaining his plans to get you well again. I highly recommend Dr. Carriere to anyone."

5.0 Review from C.E. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everything about my procedure was relaxing and comfortable throughout Dr. carrier and his staff with me throughout the whole procedure which made me feel very relaxed and I was in good hands I recommend him to all of my friends"

5.0 Review from C.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very personal and listens and remembers details."

5.0 Review from C.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I am a 68 year young female and have been going to Dr. Carriere for about seven years now. I have a complex medical history and he has always come into the examination room with a big smile on his face. He makes me feel very comfortable from the moment he steps into the room. He is very interested in what I have to say as we go back-and-forth with questions and answers. He spends as much time as needed and I never feel like I am being rushed out too soon. Throughout the years I’ve had upper G.I. scopes and my colonoscopy performed by him as well as many office visits. My confidence in him is unsurpassed as is his professionalism."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr Carriere is a very compassionate doctor. He was very comforting as I was very nervous for my procedure. Everything went well and everyone at the facility were very professional and caring. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from G.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I highly recommend Dr.Carriere,I have been a patient for more than a few years,and have always left confident that I had the best care available.All of the staff and nurses are friendly,and comforting"

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google May 25 2020

"Dr Carriere has been my doctor for years. He delivered my 31 yr old son. My two sisters see him and my 3 nieces do also. I’ve recommended him to several of my friends and they see him. He’s really easy to talk to & very mild mannered and is just a doctor who cares."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google May 25 2019

"Great Office!"

5.0 Review from J.D. Source: Google May 25 2018

"He's awesome and the staff is just just as great! I travel from MD each year just to see him!"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2015

"I have been going to Doctor Carriere for yrs. he delivered my 22 yr old son.. He has a delightful personality and makes you feel comfortable. He also performed a laparoscopic hysterectomy which went very well, you can't see the scars. I was up and around in 10 days.. I still go to see him for check ups, ( I have my cervix which he suggested I keep, helps to balance things down there, and you keep the sensations ) He is a great doctor.. :)"